Dropbox saves deleted and previous versions of files for a specific period of time so you can recover them if desired. After this period of time, the deleted files are marked for permanent deletion in our system and are purged from our storage servers. Once they’ve been permanently deleted, they can no longer be recovered or restored.
The file recovery period depends on your Dropbox plan:
Permanently deleting files
When you mark files for permanent deletion, you can initiate the purging of your files from our servers immediately.
Learn how to permanently delete files
If you’re a Dropbox Business team member, your team admin may have limited your ability to permanently delete files.
Deleting your Dropbox account
If you delete your Dropbox Basic, Plus, or Professional account, we’ll initiate deletion of the files you store on your account.
If you’re a Dropbox Business team member, only your admin can disable your account and delete your files.