This article addresses frequently-asked questions from Dropbox Business team admins. If you have a question that isn’t answered here, you can sign up for a free, online Dropbox training with a live instructor.
If you’re a team member or have a Basic, Professional, or Plus account, check out our FAQs for individual accounts.
What’s the difference between a team folder and a shared folder?
A shared folder is a folder that can be created by anyone to share files.
A team folder can only be created by a Dropbox Business Team admin, who can also create subfolders within the team folder and choose which members have access to each.
If I already have a regular folder, can I change it to a team folder?
No, only a Dropbox Business team admin can create a team folder.
How does remote wipe work when suspending or deleting members from Dropbox?
Suspended team members immediately lose access to their Dropbox Business account, including all files, folders, and Paper docs. When a team admin suspends a member, they have the option to delete that member’s files from any devices they may have linked to Dropbox.
Once I invite members into my group, how do I change them to view-only access?
To limit a group member's access, you can remove them from the group and then invite them as an individual shared folder member with "can view" access. Or, invite each member individually to set distinct view or edit permissions for each member.
Can one team admin delete or change another team admin's role?
It depends on what kind of team you’re on. Admins on an Advanced or Enterprise Dropbox Business team can have either global permissions, which allow them to delete or change another team admin’s role, or a more limited set of permissions.
On a Standard team, all admins have the same permissions and can delete or change another admin’s role.
Why might a team admin not see the option to restore a team member?
There are a few reasons why a team admin may not see the option to restore a team member:
- The member was deleted more than seven days ago. After seven days, an admin can use account transfer to transfer files to a new team member account
- An admin already used account transfer on the deleted member's account
- An admin chose to permanently delete the member
- The member was restored by Dropbox Support
- The member was invited, but never actually joined your team
- The member was deleted by an app that uses the first version of the Dropbox API
Can activity reports be automated?
No, activity reports cannot be automated.
Is it possible to clear the activity log? Does the activity log clear for a member after he or she is deleted?
No, the activity log cannot be cleared. A member’s activity will remain the activity log, but the email of the deleted member may be removed once the account is deleted.
How long does it take for a member to be suspended or deleted?
Suspensions and deletions take effect immediately.