Deleting and moving files or folders: warnings and messages

You may see an error or message when trying to delete or move files in your Dropbox account. These errors and messages help you keep your Dropbox account organized and prevent unintentional deletions or moves.

I got the message “Are you sure you want to delete this file?”

What happened:

You tried to delete or move files or folders in your Dropbox account. When you take certain actions that could delete files or folders for you or others, you’ll be asked to confirm the action.

You need to confirm an action when you:

  • Delete files or folders from a shared folder
  • Delete files or folders from your Dropbox account
  • Move files or folders from a shared folder to a location that other members of the folder can't access (like a private folder or a folder not in your Dropbox account)
  • Move files or folders out of your Dropbox account

What to do now:

If you didn’t mean to delete or move these files, click Cancel. If you want to confirm the delete or move, click Delete or Move

To disable future warnings for this type of deletion or move, check the box next to Don’t ask me again.

If you’re deleting files to save space on your hard drive, try using selective sync or Smart Sync instead. 

How to undo accidental deletions on macOS 10.15 (Catalina)

To undo accidental deletions on macOS 10.15 (Catalina), you’ll need to enable Full Disk Access. Full Disk Access gives Dropbox permission to undo accidental deletions. 

To enable Full Fisk Access:

  1. Open System Preferences and click Security and Privacy.
  2. Click the Privacy tab.
  3. In the bottom-left, click the lock icon to make changes.
  4. Enter in your computer password and click Unlock.
  5. Scroll down to Full Disk Access and check the box next to Dropbox.
  6. Click Quit Now to quit and restart Dropbox.
How helpful was this article?

We’re sorry to hear that.
Let us know how we can improve:

Thanks for your feedback!
Let us know how this article helped:

Thanks for your feedback!