Admins: How to delete a member from a Dropbox team

Admins Updated Nov 04, 2026

In this article

person icon

The information in this article applies to certain types of admins on Dropbox team accounts.

If someone leaves your organization, you can suspend or delete their account. You can also convert their account to an individual Dropbox account.

Compare your options: Suspend, delete, or convert the account

 

  
Suspend the account

Temporarily block the member from accessing their team account. 

  • You can reverse the suspension later. 
  • Their provisioned license still remains in use.

Learn more about suspending an account.

Delete the account

Permanently remove the member from the team and immediately revoke their access to their team account.

  • You can transfer their files to another team member, remove files from their devices the next time those devices come online, and reuse their license.
  • Restoration is time-limited.
Convert the account to an individual account

Disconnect the member from your team and convert their account to Dropbox Basic.

  • The member retains eligible personal files and content, but loses access to certain team content.
  • This action is permanent, and the license becomes available for reuse.

Learn more about converting an account.

 

Before you delete a team member

Deleting a member immediately removes access to their team account. This includes files, folders, and Paper docs.

Before you confirm the deletion:

  1. Make sure that deletion is the right action.
  2. Create a legal hold, if needed.
    • Legal holds can only be created before deleting a member. 
    • You can’t place legal holds on deleted team members.
  3. Choose where the member’s content goes.
  4. Choose whether to remove files from the member’s devices.
    • Decide whether to delete content from the member’s connected devices the next time those devices come online.
  5. Understand license availability.
    • You can reuse the license after deleting the member’s account.
highlighter icon

Note: Shared links to team content that were created by the member with view or edit access will remain active after deletion.

How to delete a Dropbox team member

  1. Log in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
  2. Click Admin console in the left sidebar.
  3. Click Members.
  4. Click More next to the member you want to remove.
  5. Click Delete.
    • If your team is in locked state, you can’t delete the member using this option. See how to disconnect team members in locked state.
  6. Under Transfer this member’s file content to another team member?, choose Transfer now or Transfer later.
    • If you choose Transfer now, enter the recipient’s name or email address.
    • If you choose Transfer later, you can arrange a transfer after deletion, subject to the applicable transfer and version-history limits.
  7. Under Delete content from this member’s devices next time they come online?, select Yes or No.
  8. Click Continue.
  9. Review any activity information or confirmation prompt displayed for an active member.
  10. Click Delete account to confirm.

What happens after you delete a team member?

After deletion:

  • The member immediately loses access to their team account, including files, folders, and Paper docs.
  • Dropbox stops syncing files to their computers and mobile devices.
  • The member receives an email notifying them that their account has been deleted.
  • Shared links with view or edit access created by the member remain active.
  • You can reuse the member’s license and invite someone else to the team.
highlighter icon

Notes:

  • The member generally can’t create another Dropbox account with the same email address for seven days after deletion.
  • If their file content is transferred to another team member during deletion, or permanently deleted, they can use the same email address immediately.

How file transfer works

You can transfer the deleted member’s files and folders to another team member. The transfer can include existing files and folders, deleted files, ownership of shared folders, and certain app data.

You can transfer a deleted member’s files only once, and the transfer must take place within the applicable version history period. Once that period has expired, the files may no longer be recoverable or transferable.

warning icon

Important: The recipient of the transferred files should be chosen carefully. Once the files have been transferred, there’s no process to undo this action. 

For the full process and limitations, see How to transfer a deleted team member’s files.

What happens to files on the member’s devices?

During deletion, you can choose whether Dropbox should delete the member’s files from their devices the next time those devices come online. Choose this option according to your organization’s security requirements.

warning icon

Important: This setting is separate from transferring the member’s files to another team member. Make sure to review both choices before confirming deletion.

Can I restore a deleted team member?

If you accidentally delete a team member, you may be able to restore their account within seven days. 

highlighter icon

Note: Restoration may not be available if the account was permanently deleted or an account transfer has already been used.

Learn how to restore a deleted team member and check restoration eligibility.

Can I delete my own account from the team?

No. If you’re a team admin, you must first make another team member an admin. Then, the new admin can remove you from the team.

Can team members delete their own accounts?

No. Team members should contact their team admin to request removal. 

Learn more about leaving a Dropbox team account.

What if my team is in locked state?

If your team is in locked state, you can’t delete a member through the usual deletion process. Instead, you can disconnect the member. This converts their account to the Dropbox Basic plan.

When you disconnect a member in locked state:

  • You can’t transfer their files and folders to another team member as part of the disconnection.
  • Eligible files and folders are transferred to the member’s new Dropbox Basic account.
  • The member’s access to team content changes according to the rules for conversion to an individual account.

Learn more about disconnecting team members in locked state.

Was this article helpful?

Let us know how why it didn't help:

Thanks for letting us know!

Thanks for your feedback!

Community answers

Footer-Help