Deleting your Dropbox account deletes all of your account and file data from Dropbox and signs you out of Dropbox on all devices. When you delete your Dropbox account:
- Your files and folders will stop syncing on all devices.
- Note: Content synced to your computer will stay there, but will no longer sync.
- You won't be able to access your account or undo the deletion.
- You won't be able to edit files in shared folders.
- Your files in private folders will be deleted from Dropbox servers.
- Note: All content is non-recoverable as soon as you delete your account.
- Your files in shared folders will still be accessible by members in those shared folders.
Note: Canceling your subscription downgrades your account to Dropbox Basic, but it doesn't delete your account.
To permanently delete your Dropbox account, follow the instructions for your account type below.
To permanently delete your account:
- Sign in to dropbox.com.
- Click your avatar (profile picture or initials) in the upper right corner.
- Click Settings.
- Under General, click Delete account.
When you delete your account, we'll initiate deletion of the Dropbox files you store on Dropbox after 30 days. If you mark a file within your account for permanent deletion, we'll remove it within 90 days in the normal course of operations. It may take several additional days to complete depending on the number of files selected for deletion.
To delete your account, you’ll need to cancel or leave your Dropbox Family plan first. After you cancel or leave your Family plan, you can delete your account by following the instructions in the section above.
Dropbox team subscriptions
Only certain types of admins can permanently delete a Dropbox Standard, Advanced, Enterprise, or Education account. Deleting your team's account includes deleting all member account data and all file data.
If you're an admin with access to delete your team's account, you can permanently delete the account and file data by following these steps in this order:
- Delete all members from your team.
- Note: Any team members that are placed on a legal hold cannot be fully deleted until you release the hold.
- Contact Dropbox support to downgrade your team to locked state.
- Disband your team.
- Delete your own account.
If you're a member of a Dropbox team account and want to delete your account, contact an admin who has the ability to delete members of your team.