How to cancel a Dropbox subscription or trial purchased on a mobile device

If you used your phone or tablet to purchase Dropbox or start a free trial, you must cancel your subscription through iTunes or Google Play, depending on your device type.

Learn how to cancel a Dropbox subscription purchased on your computer.

How to cancel a Dropbox subscription or trial on an iPhone or iPad

If you purchased Dropbox from your iPhone, iPad, or other OS device, you can cancel your Dropbox subscription or free trial by following these steps:

  1. On your iPhone or iPad, tap Settings.
  2. Tap your name.
  3. Tap iTunes & App Store. 
  4. Tap your Apple ID at the top of the screen, then tap View Apple ID. 
  5. Tap Subscriptions (about midway through the screen).
  6. Tap Dropbox.
  7. Tap Cancel Subscription or Cancel Trial.
  8. Tap Confirm.
  9. Your account will downgrade to Dropbox Basic (free) at the end of your billing cycle. 

Learn more about cancelling your subscription on Apple’s help center.

How to cancel a Dropbox subscription or trial on Android

If you purchased Dropbox from an Android device, you can cancel a Dropbox subscription or free trial by following these steps:

  1. Open the Google Play Store on your Android phone or tablet.
  2. Tap the three horizontal lines (Menu) in the upper left corner.
  3. Check to make sure you’re signed in to the Google account you used to purchase the subscription.
  4. Tap Subscriptions.
  5. Tap Dropbox.
  6. Tap Cancel subscription.
  7. Select a reason why you’re canceling and tap Continue.
  8. Tap Cancel subscription or Cancel trial.
  9. You’ll receive an email to your Google account to confirm your cancellation, and your account will downgrade to Dropbox Basic (free) at the end of your billing cycle. 

Learn more about cancelling your subscription on Google’s help center.

What happens when I cancel my Dropbox subscription or trial?

If you cancel your Dropbox subscription or trial or your subscription expires, your account will downgrade to a Dropbox Basic (free) account at the end of your billing cycle or trial. Additionally:

  • You’ll still have access to all of your files and folders
  • Dropbox keeps deleted versions of your files for 30 days, in case you change your mind
  • If you’re over your downgraded storage quota, Dropbox will stop syncing your files
How helpful was this article?

We’re sorry to hear that.
Let us know how we can improve:

Thanks for your feedback!
Let us know how this article helped:

Thanks for your feedback!