If you signed up for a Dropbox Standard, Advanced, or Enterprise trial, this article will tell you how to cancel your free trial before it ends so you don’t get charged. If you don’t cancel your free trial before it ends, you’ll be charged for Dropbox Standard, Advanced, or Enterprise with the billing information you used when you signed up for your free trial.
Note: Only an admin can cancel a Dropbox Standard, Advanced, or Enterprise trial. If you’re a team member, contact your team's admin.
Cancel a Dropbox Standard, Advanced, or Enterprise free trial
To cancel a Dropbox Standard, Advanced, or Enterprise free trial:
- Log in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
- Click Admin console in the left sidebar.
- Click Billing in the left sidebar.
- At the bottom of the page, click Cancel your trial.
- Click Cancel Dropbox Business.
- Click the checkbox to acknowledge that disbanding a team is permanent.
- Click Disband team and log out.
You’ll receive an email confirming that your free trial is canceled.
Terms of Dropbox Standard, Advanced, and Enterprise free trial
When you signed up for your free trial, you received an email from Dropbox with the length and details of your trial. If you don’t see it in your inbox, check your spam folder.
If you cancel your free trial before it expires, you’ll return to the type of account you had before you signed up for the free trial.
Note: If your trial expires and converts to a paid subscription, but the renewal fails for any reason (e.g. no billing info, card couldn’t be charged, etc.), your team will be moved into a locked state, which allows the team to continue access to the team files, but removes most team syncing and sharing features. You can disband your team to remove all team access.
Check if a free trial is canceled
Once you cancel your free trial, you should receive a confirmation email from Dropbox. If you don’t see it in your inbox, check your spam folder.
If you were charged for Dropbox Standard, Advanced, or Enterprise
If your free trial already ended and you started getting charged for Dropbox Standard, Advanced, or Enterprise, you can downgrade your team to a locked state right now by canceling your current subscription. Your Dropbox Standard, Advanced, or Enterprise features will be downgraded at the end of your current billing cycle. You won’t lose any of your files and you won’t get charged on your next billing date.
Check your next billing date
Learn how to view your past bills from Dropbox and see your next billing date.
Find your current Dropbox plan
If you’re not sure what type of account you have right now, log in to dropbox.com and go to https://www.dropbox.com/account/plan.
In most cases, Dropbox doesn’t issue refunds. To stop getting charged in the future, cancel your current subscription and downgrade your team to a locked state.
If you’d like to completely delete your Dropbox account instead, learn how in this article.