The information in this article applies to customers on Dropbox Business Basic, which is not generally available.
Business Basic teams have access to basic Dropbox features with the following restrictions:
Business Basic allowance
Dropbox Standard allowance
Applies to
Team members
Up to 10
Up to 500
Shared across the team
Team storage space
2 GB
Up to 3 TB, plus 1 TB per additional member
Team folders
Up to 3
Unlimited
Upload allowance
2 GB per month
Per member
New shared links
10 per month
Dropbox transfer size
100 GB
Each transfer
File recovery
30 days
180 days
Team content
eSignature requests
3 per month
If you want to access additional features, add more team members, or get additional upload or storage allowances, you’ll need to sign up for a Dropbox for teams plan.
Learn more about how to check your Dropbox storage space.
Each Business Basic member can create up to 10 new shared links per month, so your new monthly shared links limit will be renewed on the first day of every month. When a member successfully creates a new shared link in Dropbox, that counts as one of 10 new shared links per month. Copying that link doesn’t count towards your monthly limit. Once the limit is reached, existing links will continue to work, but members won’t be able to create new links.
Use the table below to identify what actions create a new shared link:
Action
Counts as a new shared link?
Note
Select Create link when no link exists
Yes
If no shared link exists, selecting the Copy link icon or Copy link outside the share modal creates and copies a new link. Creating this link counts toward the member’s monthly allowance.
Delete a link and create another one
Deleting or revoking a link doesn’t restore the member’s monthly link allowance.
Select Copy link for an existing link
No
Send an existing link to more people
Open or download using an existing link
Change an existing link’s settings
Each team member can upload up to 2 GB per calendar month, so your new monthly upload limit will be renewed on the first day of every month. Your monthly upload limit is combined across the Dropbox website, desktop app, mobile app, and any connected devices.
Deleting files may free space in your team’s shared storage, but it doesn’t restore your monthly upload limit. Your monthly upload limit resets on the first day of each calendar month.
When a member reaches their upload limit, they can’t upload new files until their limit resets on the first of the month. Reaching an upload limit only affects that member. Other members of the team can continue to upload, sync, and share files, as long as the team hasn’t reached its storage limit.
When your team reaches its storage limit, some Dropbox features become unavailable until your team frees up space or upgrades.
Every team member can view the admin console, but only the team admin can use the admin console to upgrade the team, add and remove members, and control external sharing settings. In addition to using it to manage content in the team space, you can use it to:
Everyone in a Dropbox Business Basic team shares a team space, which includes team folders and personal folders. Dropbox Business Basic teams can create up to three team folders, which are top-level shared folders for organizing team files and subfolders. Learn more about the team space.
Once you’ve created a team, you can start managing your team folders and content. You can easily share team folders with the entire team at once, and decide who can access team content. Learn more about managing team folders as an admin.
Team members will have access to two types of folders:
Personal folder: Files in this private folder aren’t accessible to other team members, unless you choose to share them.
Team folders: Members should move files and folders containing ongoing team work from their personal folder into shared team folders. This means that everyone with access to that team folder can automatically find and collaborate on it. Learn more about using shared folders.
Members’ personal folders and team folders all use your team’s storage space.
The team folder limit applies to the total number of top-level team folders across the entire team. All top-level team folders count toward the limit, regardless of whether they were created by an admin or a team member.
Folders nested inside a top-level team folder don’t count toward this limit.
Who can delete a top-level team folder depends on your team’s Top-level folder management setting:
Learn more about top-level folder management.
A deleted team folder that can still be recovered doesn’t continue to occupy a slot in your team folder limit. Once the folder is deleted, its slot can be used to create another top-level team folder.
If an admin restores the deleted folder, it counts toward the limit again. If restoring the folder would put the team over its limit, the folder can’t be restored until capacity is available or the team upgrades.
Once your team reaches its top-level team folder limit, you can’t create additional top-level team folders.
To create more, upgrade your Dropbox plan. You can also delete top-level team folders you no longer need to make room.
Once someone accepts an invite, they'll have access to the team folders they have permissions for. Learn how to invite members to your team.
If you try to invite more than 10 members to your team, you’ll be given the option to upgrade your plan to invite more than 10 members. Alternatively, you can remove an existing member to create a space for a new member.
Note: Pending member invitations count towards your team member limit.
Everyone on your team can invite new members by default. Admins can change this setting in the admin console.
To turn this off:
To join a Business Basic team:
To join a team you’ve been invited to:
Note: The email used for your invite will be the one connected to the team. You can’t access the team folder with your new account if it has a different email.
To join a team:
Once you’ve verified your email, you’ll have full access the team and any team folders you’ve been given access to by your admin.
To add more than 10 members, the team admin must upgrade to a Dropbox for teams plan. Upgrading your team will give you access to premium features such as customer support, and unlock additional storage, shared links, member uploads, and team folders.
Learn more about Dropbox for teams plans.
Note: If you have a Business Basic plan, you can only upgrade through a direct purchase and won’t be eligible for trials.
Only a team admin can purchase an upgrade. If you’re a team member, click Upgrade then choose Ask an admin to request an upgrade. Your admin will receive the request by email and in Dropbox.
Only team admins disband the team. To disband your team:
When you disband your team:
Once a team disbands, the following will also happen:
Note: Customers currently on a Basic teams plan can continue using their existing plan. The new Business Basic limits on team folders, monthly uploads, and new shared links don’t apply to existing Basic teams. If your team is on a Basic teams plan, see the Basic teams section to learn more about your plan.
Basic teams is a free Dropbox team plan in certain locales for some users on Dropbox Basic, and some users who downgraded from trials or paid team plans. Users in other locations can accept invites to join existing Basic teams. New teams can no longer join Basic teams.
Current customers on Basic teams won’t experience any changes to their existing plan features. It offers the same features as Business Basic, but the following limits don’t apply:
Other existing Basic teams limits, including the 10-member team limit and 2 GB of shared team storage, remain unchanged.
No. If you have a paid Dropbox subscription, you’ll need to use a different email and ask the admin to invite you using that email.
To leave a team as a team member, you need to request that your admin remove you from the team. Only admins can remove a member from the team. When you leave, you'll retain access to your personal folder, but you'll no longer be able to access the shared team folder.
Your Business Basic account includes 2 GB of free storage space, which is shared across your team. If your account exceeds this storage limit, restrictions may apply. For example, you may not be able to sync, upload, share, move, or preview files and folders. Deleting files or folders you no longer need can free space in your team’s shared storage. You can also upgrade your account to get more shared storage.
Yes, thanks!
Not really
Let us know how why it didn't help:
Thanks for letting us know!
Thanks for your feedback!