What is locked state?

Your team can end up in locked state if your trial period expires or if you downgrade your plan. If your team enters locked state, you’ll be able to view but not edit the files and folders in your Dropbox account. Specifically:

  • Your files will no longer sync
  • You won’t be able to create or upload any new files and folders
  • Features such as inviting new members, suspending members, and managing groups will be disabled

How to get out of locked state

If you're a team member, you have two options:

If you're an admin, you can either upgrade your subscription or disband your team.

Upgrade your subscription from locked state

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
  2. Click See next steps in the red banner at the top of your screen.
  3. Click the blue Keep Dropbox Business button.
  4. Fill in your payment information.
    • Note: Before upgrading, you'll want to remove users who don't need access to the team content to avoid paying for unnecessary licenses. You'll also want to cancel any nonessential pending invitations.
  5. Click Purchase.

Note: After upgrading, you’ll need to re-invite any members who may have left your team while it was in locked state. These members will have to accept your invitation in order to rejoin the team.

Disband your team

When you disband your team, all team member accounts become individual Dropbox accounts. Admins receive a copy of all team content. Any team member who is not an admin loses access to the team content. Team members keep access to their own files and folders.

Additionally, once a team disbands, the following occurs:

  • The team structure is deleted
  • Shared folders outside of team spaces keep their sharing relationships
  • Pending invitations are deleted
  • Suspended users are deleted
  • Shared links to team-owned content break; links for shared folders/files do not
  • Team content created by deleted team members is lost permanently
  • Archived folders are deleted
  • Deleted files and folders become un-restorable

To disband your team:

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
  2. Click your avatar (profile picture or initials) in the top-right corner. 
  3. Click Settings.
  4. Click See next steps in the red banner at the top of your screen.
  5. Click Cancel Dropbox Business and disband my team.
  6. Check the box that says “I understand that disbanding the team is permanent and members may retain team data.” 
  7. Click Disband team and log out. Your team will be logged out once disbandment is complete.
How helpful was this article?

We’re sorry to hear that.
Let us know how we can improve:

Thanks for your feedback!
Let us know how this article helped:

Thanks for your feedback!

Community answers
  1. Back to Dropbox Plus