Convert a Dropbox Business team member's account to an individual account

Team admins can convert a team member's Dropbox Business account to an individual account. The team member's work account becomes a Dropbox Basic account that is not connected to your Dropbox Business team.

The team member keeps all shared files and folders they had access to before joining the team, and any private files in their account. You will no longer be able to manage their files. 

Note: If someone was invited to join the team, but never accepted, you only have the option to delete their account

How to convert a team member to an individual account

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
  2. Click Admin Console in the left sidebar.
  3. Click the Members tab.
  4. Click the gear icon next to the name of the person you want to remove.
  5. Select Delete member.
  6. Click Convert to individual Dropbox Basic account instead.
  7. Click Convert account.

Notes:

  • Converting a team member's account is permanent. After the conversion, you will not be able to restore the account or make any changes.
  • Under some circumstances, converted team members may retain access to content that was shared with them by a previous team member. See below to learn how to prevent converted team members from retaining access.
  • After converting a team member's account, you can reuse the license they occupied and invite another person to the team.
  • Converted team members are displayed as Disconnected in the Admin Console Members tab.

What is transferred

  • All private (not shared) files and folders
  • Shared folders the member owns
  • Shared folders and files owned by people not on the team
  • Shared folders and files owned by the member before joining the team
  • Shared links that don’t have team-only permissions
  • Files and folders shared directly with the member
  • Private unshared Paper docs
  • Paper docs shared by external (non-team) users

What is not transferred

  • Team folders
  • Shared folders owned by other team members you were invited to after joining the team or that have team-only permissions
  • Shared folders, files, and links that have team-only permissions
  • Team files shared directly with the member, not through shared links
  • Paper docs shared between member and the team
  • Membership to groups and folders shared with the member through groups
  • Shared links created by the member to team files and folders will no longer work
  • Shared folder invitations to team content that haven't been accepted will no longer work
  • The member can no longer use SSO and instead must sign in using a password

Prevent converted team members retaining access to shared content

If a team member is converted to an individual account, remaining team members will retain access to any folders created and shared directly with them by that leaving team member. If any of those remaining team members are later converted or moved off the team, they will continue to have access to those shared folders from their individual accounts. 

To prevent converted members from retaining access to shared content, have the original owner transfer ownership of their folders to a different team member before converting them to an individual account.

How helpful was this article?

We’re sorry to hear that.
Let us know how we can improve:

Thanks for your feedback!
Let us know how this article helped:

Thanks for your feedback!