How do I cancel my free Dropbox trial?

To cancel your free trial of Dropbox Business or Dropbox Professional, follow the steps for the type of trial that applies to you.

Want to cancel your paid subscription? Learn how to cancel your Dropbox subscription.

Note: If you signed up for a trial through iTunes or Google Play, you must cancel it through the same app store. Learn how to cancel your mobile subscription.

How to cancel a Dropbox Business trial

To cancel a Dropbox Business trial, you must be the team admin for your account. Find out who your team admin is.

To cancel your Dropbox Business free trial:

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com with your admin account.
  2. Click Admin console from the list on the left.
    • Don’t see Admin console? Click the Dropbox logo in the upper left corner. You should now see Admin console on the left.
  3. Click Billing from the list on the left.
  4. At the bottom of the page, click Cancel your trial.
  5. Click Cancel Dropbox Business
  6. Click the checkbox to acknowledge that disbanding a team is permanent.
  7. Click Disband team and log out
  8. You’ll receive an email confirming that your team has been disbanded. 

Note: When you disband the team, you also delete your Dropbox Business account. All members’ accounts will be converted to individual Dropbox Basic (free) accounts.

If you have any trouble cancelling your free trial, contact Dropbox support.

How to cancel a Dropbox Professional trial

If you cancel your free trial of Dropbox Professional before the trial ends, you won’t be charged. To cancel:

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com
  2. Click your profile picture or grey circle in the upper right corner. 
  3. Click Settings.
  4. Next to General, select the Plan tab. 
  5. Click Manage plan.
  6. Click Cancel trial.
  7. Click I still want to downgrade.
  8. Select the reason why you’re canceling. 
  9. Click I still want to downgrade
  10. You’ll receive an email confirmation that your trial has been canceled and you’ll immediately lose access to Professional features.

 

What happens when my Dropbox Business trial expires?

When your Dropbox Business trial expires:

  • Your team will become locked, and you’ll have limited access to features until you disband your team or subscribe
  • If you previously had a Plus or Professional subscription, your account will immediately return to your original subscription
  • Dropbox keeps deleted versions of your files for 30 days, in case you change your mind
  • If you’re over your downgraded storage quota, Dropbox will stop syncing your files

What happens when my Dropbox Professional trial expires?

When your Dropbox Professional trial expires:

  • Your account is immediately downgraded to a Dropbox Basic account
  • If you previous had a Plus subscription, you'll be downgraded to 2TB of space
  • If your new, downgraded plan doesn’t have Showcase, any Showcases will go into a locked and unpublished state
  • Dropbox keeps deleted versions of your files for 30 days, in case you change your mind
  • If you’re over your downgraded storage quota, Dropbox will stop syncing your files
How helpful was this article?

We’re sorry to hear that.
Let us know how we can improve:

Thanks for your feedback!
Let us know how this article helped:

Thanks for your feedback!